The office of CWG Architecture, located in the historic mansion district near downtown Helena, has a rich history. The original building was constructed in 1891 and served as the carriage house for Senator T.C. Power’s team of 12 black horses and multiple carriages. It was then used as the administrative building of the Catholic Diocese until it was obtained by CWG Architecture as an office building in 1981. The original building was redesigned to be a multi-use facility, which includes offices as well as 2 completely separated rental apartment units. This latest renovation aimed to have space that was warm and timeless on the interior and preserved the historic nature of the exterior space.
The building’s total interior renovations included updating the workstations, lighting, finishes, and amenities. The office has a reception area, 5 individual offices, 3 open multi-person workspaces, a conference room, breakroom, 3 restrooms and materials vault. The timeless design of the interior recreates some of to the building’s history while simultaneously creating a workspace with modern amenities.